January 3, 2019/Media, Press

Texas Democrats Congratulate New Congress and Democratic House Majority

Austin, TX — Today, the most diverse Congress in American history is being sworn in. Across our country, 44 Congressional seats were flipped from Republican to Democratic.

Texas Democrats congratulate our 13-member-strong delegation which includes Colin Allred and Lizzie Pannill Fletcher, who both flipped their districts and Sylvia Garcia and Veronica Escobar, the first Latinas elected to Congress from Texas.

Texas Democratic Party Chair Gilberto Hinojosa issued the following statement:

“A new Democratic House majority is immediately getting to work for the American people. While Donald Trump holds our government and American workers hostage for a border wall no one wants, Texas Democrats are ready to deliver solutions that will change people’s lives.

“Representation matters and Texas will be a better place to live, work, and retire because of the hard work and service of our Democratic congressional leaders.

“Our Texas Democratic Congressional delegation looks like our diverse and dynamic state. We’re excited to have senior members with key expertise and leadership skills, rising stars who are getting national recognition for their good work, and new members who are hitting the ground running. We could not be more proud.”

Congratulations to our Texas Democratic delegation:

Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX 7, Houston)

Al Green (TX 9, Houston)

Vicente González (TX 15, McAllen)

Veronica Escobar (TX 16, El Paso)

Sheila Jackson Lee (TX 18, Houston)

Joaquín Castro (TX 20, San Antonio)

Henry Cuellar (TX 28, Laredo)

Sylvia Garcia (TX 29, Houston)

Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX 30, Dallas)

Colin Allred (TX 32, Dallas)

Marc Veasey (TX 33, Fort Worth)

Filemon Vela Jr. (TX 34, Brownsville)

Lloyd Doggett (TX 35, Austin)