November 10, 2020/Media, Press

Pathetic Texas Republicans Greg Abbott, Dan Patrick, and Allen West Refuse to Admit Trump Lost the Election, Are Attempting to Disenfranchise the Majority of Voters in this Country

Austin, Texas — Today, Texas Republicans Greg Abbott, Dan Patrick, and Allen West refused to acknowledge President-Elect Joe Biden’s overwhelming victory in the 2020 elections, instead spewing nonsense about “voter fraud” and demanding recounts.

Joe Biden clearly won this election — his margin of victory is much greater in every single state than Trump. By questioning the results of the fair and free election, Texas Republicans are questioning the entire process of our democracy itself.

Texas delivered 5.2 million votes to President-Elect Biden’s record-sitting popular vote total. We have known for days that President-Elect Biden has clearly won a majority of electoral votes.

Texas Democratic Party Communications Director Abhi Rahman issued the following statement:

“This was not a close election. President-elect Biden won by nearly 5 million votes and counting, and is on track to win 306 electoral votes. Real leaders have congratulated Joe Biden.

“As the President-Elect has said, ‘It’s time to put away the harsh rhetoric, lower the temperature, see each other again, listen to each other again. And to make progress we have to stop treating our opponents as enemies.’

Abbott, Patrick, and West have refused to acknowledge Biden’s victory because they are cowering to their extremist right-wing base rather than leading at a pivotal moment for our country. Their failure to do so is a dangerous affront to our democracy.”