November 7, 2018/Media, Press

Texas Democrats on 2018 Statewide Election Results

Austin, TX — Tonight a bold, diverse, statewide slate of progressive champions catapulted Texas Democrats to have the best midterm election in a generation.

The Texas Democratic Party congratulates our statewide slate:

  • Beto O’Rourke for U.S. Senate

  • Lupe Valdez for Governor

  • Mike Collier for Lt. Governor

  • Justin Nelson for Attorney General

  • Joi Chevalier for Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • Miguel Suazo for Land Commissioner

  • Kim Olson for Agriculture Commissioner

  • Roman McAllen for Railroad Commissioner

  • Steven Kirkland for Texas Supreme Court, Place 2

  • R.K Sandill for Texas Supreme Court, Place 4

  • Kathy Cheng for Texas Supreme Court, Place 6

  • Maria T (Terri) Jackson, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, Presiding Judge, Place 1

  • Ramona Franklin, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7

Texas Democratic Party Chair Gilberto Hinojosa issued the following statement:

“Texas Democrats just delivered the best statewide margin in a generation. Tonight, Texas Democrats have shattered all expectations and definitively shown Texas is in play in 2020.

“Although we came up short, I am hopeful because I have seen something happening in Texas. If you had the chance to talk to folks at a Beto O’Rourke rally or meet Lupe Valdez and our diverse statewide slate, you saw a glimpse of the future of Texas. A Texas where everyone has a fair shot to get ahead.

“We will build on the progress we’ve made and continue to fight for affordable healthcare, strong public schools, and an economy that works for everyone. This isn’t a game for us, it’s about changing people’s lives. That’s what we fight for, and we’ll never stop.

“As we look forward to 2020, the character, the direction, and the idea of Texas is more important than ever. There is much to be proud of tonight. To reach presidential-level turnout in a mid-term is unheard of. Nonetheless, this is Texas, we can do better. Our fight goes on.”