November 7, 2019/Media, Press

ICYMI: 26 Lawmakers Sign Bipartisan Letter Urging Abbott To Stop Execution of Rodney Reed

Austin, TX — Yesterday, 26 members of the Texas House of Representatives signed a bipartisan letter urging Republican Governor Greg Abbott to stop the execution of Rodney Reed. 

Rodney Reed has spent two decades on death row for a murder he says he did not commit. In 1996, Reed was convicted of the murder of Stacey Stites. Since then, new evidence has come to light and more time is needed to examine the evidence that raises doubts about Reed’s conviction.

The thirteen Democrats to sign the letter were Rep. Joe Moody, Rep. John Bucy III, Rep. Garnet Coleman, Rep. Nicole Collier, Rep. Gina Hinojosa, Rep. Jessica González, Rep. Mary González, Rep. Vikki Goodwin, Rep. Ina Minjarez, Rep. Victoria Neave, Rep. Toni Rose, Rep. Senfronia Thompson, and Rep. Erin Zwiener.

More from the Austin-American Statesman:

  • “A bipartisan group of Texas lawmakers, 13 Republicans and 13 Democrats, urged Gov. Greg Abbott to delay the Nov. 20 execution of Rodney Reed, saying Tuesday that more time is needed to examine ‘compelling’ evidence that raises doubts about the Bastrop man’s guilt.”

  • “Granting Mr. Reed a reprieve until the new developments in his case are fully resolved will allow the cloud of doubt surrounding his guilt to be lifted,” the letter said. “Only then should our justice system proceed, one way or the other, with decisions that cannot be undone.”

  • “Leading forensic experts have questioned the time of death previously established for Stacey Stites, who was found dead along a rural road near Bastrop in 1996, saying she was killed hours before she could have encountered Reed.”

  • “State Rep. Joe Moody, D-El Paso, co-chairman of the justice reform caucus, said the letter was not about support or opposition for the death penalty; it was about ensuring that justice is done. ‘It’s unconscionable to choose finality over certainty, especially in a death penalty case,’ he said.”

  • “In addition to Moody, Democrats who signed the letter were Reps. John Bucy III of Austin, Garnet Coleman of Houston, Nicole Collier of Fort Worth, Gina Hinojosa of Austin, Jessica González of Dallas, Mary González of Clint, Vikki Goodwin of Austin, Ida Minjarez of San Antonio, Victoria Neave of Dallas, Toni Rose of Dallas, Senfronia Thompson of Houston and Erin Zwiener of Driftwood.”

To read the full letter, click here.